RSS

Teaching and Technology

01 Aug

The video “Teaching in the 21st Century” created by Mathepediea is an excellent challenge to teachers to embrace technology.  We must use our content and teach them how to find, process, synthesize, and create using digital tools.  Why? Simply because technology leads our world today.

I found the contrast made between entertainment and engagement interesting.  Some teachers view the use of technology as just fun or entertainment.  I had a colleague observe my class producing vocabulary commercials using FLIP technology. She smiled and said, “That’s cute, but make sure they are learning and not just having fun.”  My students were not just being entertained, they were being engaged.  I would love to take that one part of the media presentation and post it in my classroom.

This video has given me new motivation to integrate more student generated creations using digital tools.  I had already made this a goal for the new school year in my mind.  The video helped me take it a step futher and define how often.  Perhaps with every unit?   I hope I can “byte” that off!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
