RSS

NETS-T Standard 5 Reflection

01 Aug

Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

Teachers continuously improve their professional practice, model lifelong learning, and exhibit leadership in their school and professional community by promoting and demonstrating the effective use of digital tools and resources. Teachers:

a. participate in local and global learning communities to explore creative applications of technology to improve student learning.
b. exhibit leadership by demonstrating a vision of technology infusion, participating in shared decision making and community building, and developing the leadership and technology skills of others.
c. evaluate and reflect on current research and professional practice on a regular basis to make effective use of existing and emerging digital tools and resources in support of student learning.
d. contribute to the effectiveness, vitality, and self-renewal of the teaching profession and of their school and community.

Standard 5 is a standard that challenges educators in our leadership.  We should go above the minimal and engage ourselves in technology even if it is unknown or scary.  Once we find ourselves comfortable utilizing technology, we should share what we know with others in our school, our district, and our PLNs online. The best way to get our students to become lifelong learners is to model it.  Learning, sharing, and collaborating is an excellent example of our own learning curve beyond the classroom.

I have begun to explore this standard this year a little more. I have participated in online webinars geared for teachers and I have created a professional blog while following other blogs.  I also try to comment on the blogs that really get my attention.  I will sometimes post it on my Facebook.   The last two years, I have attended the Upstate Technology Conference gaining many resources and contacts.  This past summer, I presented at the technology conference for the first time.

While I have successfully started exploring my professional online community and collaborating with them and with my local colleagues, I would love to carve time out for building my online presence a bit more.  I need to learn how to explore inviting blog topics that would draw readers and their comments.  Another tool that I could learn to use more efficiently is Twitter. I find it amazing at how many hits and comments I get when I take the time to comment on others blogs.  I hope I find a niche in time and personality online as I work to meet this standard.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
