RSS

NETS-T STANDARD 4 REFLECTION

25 Jul

Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility

Teachers understand local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture and exhibit legal and ethical behavior in their professional practices. Teachers:

a. advocate, model, and teach safe, legal, and ethical use of digital information and technology, including respect for copyright, intellectual property, and the appropriate documentation of sources.
b. address the diverse needs of all learners by using learner-centered strategies providing equitable access to appropriate digital tools and resources.
c. promote and model digital etiquette and responsible social interactions related to the use of technology and information.
d. develop and model cultural understanding and global awareness by engaging with colleagues and students of other cultures using digital-age communication and collaboration tools.

Standard 4 is about promoting digital citizenship.  As a professional, educators must consider legal and ethical use when resourcing technology.  Acknowledging copyrigt laws and understanding internet safety is of importance. Educators must also be willing to model online etiquette and also be aware that digital responsiblity goes far beyond the classroom and can lead to various implications if not exercized.

Personally, I try to always model responsibility and safety when using social media.  I never include posts, comments, or pictures that may leave a question in someone’s mind that might lurk for me.  However, recently, I was reminded that even in my professional online community  more eyes are watching than I realize.  When posting professional opinions on blogs, it is important to consider wording because colleagues near and far may read.

Improvements that I need to consider definitely fall into documenting sites, media, articles appropriately online.  I try to hyperlink all resources on my website and blogs that I resource, but I don’t always document every picture that I may find that I want to use in a document.  I am aware of free clip art sites and national archives that I use frequently and legally, but sometimes when I find something on the spur of the moment, this can fall through the cracks when I am working.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
