RSS

NETS-T Standard Three

18 Jul

Model Digital-Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society. Teachers:

a. demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations.
b. collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation.
c. communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats.
d. model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning.

Technology has changed the practices of educators through the years.  It is a continual evolution as teachers learn to take the content of their subject matter and transfer it using digital tools.  As teaching professionals, we must learn to use new tools to collaborate with all stakeholders in education.  We must also become proficient in using technology to communicate and to support our own research and learning.   I think this is an important standard to understand because it is one that is always changes as technology changes.  There is always something new to learn in order to reach our students, parents, peers, and community.

Learning about new technology is a hobby of mine.  I am always on the look out for new, innovative ways to learn, and communicate.  One way I have tried to stay current on technology is subscribing to educational technology blogs.  This has been a successful method to find out about new tools and sites for the classroom. It has also opened doors for me to meet and communicate with people that I would not have ever met without social media. I not only follow blogs on technology, but I also have met some colleagues in the field that I follow as they research and consult.  Learning is always at my fingertips.

The biggest thing that gets in the way of collaborating and communicating using digital tools is time.  First it takes me a while to decided which media tool I should use for what purpose.  There are so many tools, it can be overwhelming to decide which one will work best for me.  Second, it takes time to create and collaborate, especially if I am trying to get other colleagues at school on board to explore new digital media.  Sometimes it gets frustrating to convincing others to get on board.  I need to learn patience as I try to take baby steps with my tentative colleagues when I am ready to take on the digital world by leaps and bounds.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
